Swedens New Immigration Law

Have they just blown their chances of re-election?

Have the Alliance for Sweden made a mistake?

 

The hot political topic in Sweden right now is the new immigration laws passed this week. Whilst the financial crisis spreads like wildfire, Sweden wants more workers and wants to make it much easier for them to get in.

I had a right ‘ding dong’ with Ms Palin on this, she started off by calling me a Right Winger (or was that a right whinger?) as I said I was against the policy, then ended up calling me a ‘Leftie’ when she realised what I was getting at.  Her sister called me something else which I can’t remember in Swedish but basically means ‘Social Democrat in disguise.’ Charming!

The Wall Street Journal has a great article on this Sweden Bucks Trends on Immigration Labour. Its true whilst every other country is battening down the hatches, the Swedes are open the doors to all.

Well so I thought.

My concern was that this would lead to even more hardship for the working classes as it’s inevitably the ‘blue collar’ workers who end up competing for jobs. It would be great news for business and particularly unscrupulous employers.  It would of course drive down wages and career opportunities.

However on a further reading it appears this is mainly geared at skilled workers rather than mass labour.

The new Swedish immigration laws include:

 

Swedens New Immigration Laws

Swedens New Immigration Laws

 

 I still think the above will be abused and there will be loopholes.

I still think it’s crazy that Sweden is opening its doors when there is economic uncertainty.  Indeed Sweden’s Finance Minister Anders Borg says Sweden’s economic growth is at its weakest for 30 years. 

Also the state-run National Institute for Economic Research (Konjunkturinstitutet – KI) said on Friday that Sweden’s GDP would fall by 0.9 percent in 2009 and grow 1.9 percent in 2010. Unemployment

is expected to increase from 6.1 percent this year to 7.9 percent in 2009 and 9 percent in 2010.

Some 135,000 jobs will be lost over the next two years, KI predicts.

“The number of layoff notices has increased dramatically, at the same time, newly reported job openings have continued to decrease, and firms have cut back on their hiring plans,” the report notes.

I still find it amazing that the Government has enacted this law.  My enthusiasm for the Alliance for Sweden government is slightly less this week, not for any xenophobic reasons, but purely on the basis of a economic concerns.  I like the fact its allowing business the chance to recruit in foreign talent much easier. Remember I am an immigrant myself, brought in because of a skill set which wasnt available in Sweden.

It will however, give ammunition to the extremists, you would expect the far right to be ‘milking’ this issue but what tickles me is that all the Lefties are against the law!!!

In the UK this is very different, the Unions rarely protest against more liberal immigration laws and are usually the first to dust off their placards and hit the streets on such issues.

What do you think about the new Swedish immigration laws? Is this good or bad news for Sweden?

One Response

  1. Yes, I admit I called you a right winger (though right whinger is spot on too😉 ), and you publicly support McCain and keep calling me bloody Palin, so why wouldn’t I?! However the views you express are those of the unions you so very much despise normally, and that makes you a smygsosse.

    The new law is great news – about time, I say!

Leave a Reply

