Motorhead Stockholm 08

Sweden, England and Wales this could be my new family crest?

Sweden, England and Wales this could be my new family crest?

Motorhead, Stockholm, 2008.  Wow, what a gig! It was my third time seeing the mighty Motörhead and they were awesome. They never disappoint and put in 100% effort. Its amazing that Lemmy is 63 and  is still cranking out thundering bass lines and croaking out the lyrics to belters such as ‘The Ace of Spades’, ‘Overkill’, ‘Iron Fist’ etc etc. I have included the full Motorhead Stockholm setlist below.

I have only seen Motorhead in Cambridge so it was nice to see Motorhead in Stockholm in a bigger venue.

The venue Hovet was an interesting venue for a gig.  Hovet ‘The court’ was opened in 1955, finished in ’62 and refurbished in 2002. It is home to several ice hockey clubs including AIK and Djurgården. Its capacity for gigs is just under 10,000 and 8,300 for ice hockey games.

I am so lucky living in Stockholm as there are some great acts here. Hovet is only about 20 mins from my place and I got there just before 9 to catch the last part of the support band, Airbourne. They made me laugh actually, good music and they really played the crowd.   I wish I had seen more of them. To be honest with the recent injury I didnt want to be sat for too long so thought I would just go and see Motörhead.

I am awful at guessing crowds but there was a decent turnout for the band.  Motorhead do have a very loyal fan base. I had considered not bothering going as I have seen them twice but there is that twinge of loyalty that said I had to go and see the loudest band in the world…apparently and boy was it loud!

I took my seat which was a good perch, at the back but centre. It wasn’t long before the lights went off and Lemmy, Phil Campbell and Sweden’s very own Mikkey Dee took the stage. It wasnt long before I heard those famous words ‘We are Motorhead and we play rock and roll!’ Bang straight into ‘Iron Fist’ a classic from the golden era of Motorhead  (1982).

Watching Motorhead live brings back so many memories for me. Sitting in my room as a teenager listening to Motorhead tapes. Back then I never thought I would get to see them live, they seemed a world away from my existence.

As I mentioned a few weeks back, Motorheads recent stuff is probably a bit too heavy for me though their latest album Motorizer is growing on me. I love the fact that unlike many other bands they dont just promote their latest work. They bring out the classics and as they have been around since the mid seventies there are plenty to choose from.

It was great to see lots of teenagers at the gig, in fact there were a few oldies as well. There were also some people like myself, clearly you would never think we would be Motorhead fans unless you saw us there. I am not sure there are many out there that love Motorhead, Morrissey and Richard Wagner!!

The new album has some cracking artwork (see above), Sweden, England and Wales are represented, maybe this could be my new family crest??

The next 90 mins, they kicked ass to be honest, a cracking gig and Motorhead always give 100%, I cant wait to see them again.

Here are two videos, the sound is atrocious bloody camera, I can assure Motorhead dont sound like this but dont think my cameras mic could handle Lemmys bass!

So here you go Motorheads Ace of Spades

and an acoustic Motorhead, much better sound quality though I wish I had captured more of this. I love the fact Lemmy is singing, playing harmonica and the drummer is playing acoustic guitar whilst playing one drum with the pedal.

Again my camera was crap in the dark, I really need to look into the one H2 recommends.

Motorhead Stockholm 2008

Setlist

Iron Fist
Stay Clean
Be My Baby
Rock Out
Metropolis
Another Perfect Day
Over The Top
One Night Stand
I Got Mine
Thousand Names
The Chase I s Better Than The Catch
In The Name of Tragedy
Just Cause You Got The Power
Going To Brazil
Killed By Death
Bomber
———–
Whorehouse Blues
Ace Of Spades
Overkill

Leave a comment