Not one for Halloween…

but in Sweden they get a day off on All Saints Day! Many of the shops close or they are on restricted hours. Quite a few companies have been on half day today. What we would call bank holidays in the UK are called ‘red days’ here.

All Saints Day is enough to make one shiver, not because of the spooky connatations but because its supposed to be the first day of Winter!

I only realised winter was coming when the fountain was turned off near my home at Mariatorget. Poor old Thor has to stop his fishing as all the water has drained away and wont be back for another six months or so.

The weather has got cold, the gloves are out but not for this blogger, I usually wait till the last moment before donning my gloves. I have a feeling that day is coming very soon.  I wonder if I will get to wear the arctic weather clothing I brought with me. I spent a fortune on a North Face jacket that makes me look and weigh like a grizzly bear. Only worn once since I have got here.

The weather has been shit, dark and raining. I can see now why the Swedes get so excited when the sun comes out in April. Doesnt worry me though, I grew up in Wales where it rains most of the time. I have bought a wake up light though as the mornings are pretty dark so its wakes you up gradually.

To be honest I can handle the cold, its just the rain that gets on my nerves.

Leave a comment