Långholmen – the Stockholm oasis

A beautiful house on Långholmen

A beautiful house on Långholmen

Photos of Långholmen here

As I mentioned before I had a lovely walk around Långholmen last Sunday. The weather is very fresh now and there is something nice about taking a walk in the lovely clean fresh Swedish air. It is starting to get a little chilly now though, I wonder if we are in for a very cold winter.

Långholmen was until 1975 a prison island. Almost sounds like something from the days of Huckleberry Finn and Tom Sawyer. Långholmen prison is now a nice hotel. On my first trip to Sweden as an idealistic 18 year old, I should have stayed at this hotel. I was over for a Young Liberal conference but a Swedish mate I had met the year before offered me his floor and I kipped there.

I did go and take a look at the hotel where the others were staying and it was very um prisonlike. Bars on the doors, bunk beds etc, certainly something a little bit different.

The island has a very exotic landscape, luscious and green. Its very different from the other Stockholm islands and its put down to the fact that the prisoners covered the island with mud from their dredging of the local waterways.

The houses are very pretty, there is something about them which are quite twee but full of character as well if that makes sense?

There are some great views of Stockholm from island which you will see in the Långholmen photos I took. I hope you enjoy them.  I am so lucky to have this on my doorstep.

Leave a Reply

