More on the Swedish ID card

Following on from my post about getting a Swedish ID card here is what happened…

Bank opens at 10am which meant going to work late. Cashier wasnt so sure of the procedure so had to get the boss involved. Boss says I need my ‘personbevis’ from Skratteverket (Tax Office).

I threw a little strop because this is not what I had been told the day before. There was no way I could take more time off to to the Swedish tax office so I went back home to root through my paperwork to see if I had it.

The personbevis is just a former with your PN, name, address etc. Fortunately and very surprising for me it was in my bundle of paperwork. So I went back to the bank where they actioned it all for me, the Swedish ID card cost 250 SEK. I had to go to the cashpoint to get the cash out (believe it or not!) and I used the one in the branch. They said that was only for putting money in…I replied ‘do people actually put money in thesedays?’  Cue giggling from the cashiers.

The funny thing was on the way back home, I dived into the hairdresser and had my hair cut very short which is the style I have settled on thesedays. So when I went back to the bank, 40 mins or so later, I had much shorter hair and a new shirt as I showered when I got back…. all this when I am trying to get proof of ID.

In short, when Sweden works it works well but forget one thing and its back home (or to the tax office) you go!

3 Responses

  1. Now that’s a funny word. ‘Skratteverket’ (Laughing office).

  2. Oh yes I made a joke without realising, first time thats happened på svenska!

  3. Best of luck with the bureaucrats and the ID card!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

