Running free

I am officially back in the gym. I have been so slack since my holidays but I finally forced me and my beer belly into the gym today. I managed to run 3kms straight off which I was happy with. Now I need to build on that to get up to 5kms and then kick on for 10kms run.

I needed a new pair of running shoes. I have learnt my lesson about buying crap running shoes before so I now get decent ones. I popped into the Runners Store on Vasagatan, Stockholm and was  very impressed with their setup. I have to be careful as I have suffered with shin splints in the past but my last decent pair of Asics really helped with that.

The assistant was very interested in why I wanted to run and then made me run on a treadmill whilst videoing my gait. He then selected a few pairs which I tried on and ended up with a snazzy pair of Nikes.

When I paid up he threw in a few pairs of running socks because I ‘support the best team’. I was wearing a Hammarby tshirt and he was a Bajen man! luckily he wasnt AIK or I might have needed to test my new running shoes out faster than I would have liked!

The title of this blog is very apt, its an Iron Maiden track of course and they are in Stockholm right now. They are playing at Stockholms Stadion and I have managed to get a ticket.  I have paid over the odds but they are my teenage band and they are playing the line up from the World Slavery tour in the mid eighties. For me this was Iron Maiden at their best.  I cant say I listen to them much thesedays so its more of a nostaligic gig as they were my teenage band. So that completes the set having seen Morrissey, The Proclaimers, Motorhead and now Iron Maiden live!  What a bandography what would  Freud make of that!

Leave a Reply

