Swedish Midsummer

Thank God for Midsummer.

The Swedes are very pissed off at the moment after they limped out of the Euros. I actually switched off at half time as the game was appalling. I did support my adopted country but the game was woeful. I guess I would have passed Mr Tebbits ‘cricket test’. Not sure if thats a good thing?

Midsummer is a big event for the Swedes, Friday is a national holiday, I even sent my staff home early today to celebrate it. The Swedish family dance around a maypole and sing songs about Small Frogs ‘små groderna’. You can read more about the Midsummer celebrations here.

Many Swedes go to their country houses or to the countryside. I was invited to a friends place but decided that I could use the three days for some R&R. I must be getting old besides herring doesnt agree with me anyway.

I

 

One Response

  1. so you are not enjoying the footie – i did rather well – got spain and germany in the work sweepstake : )

Leave a Reply

