The fuse is lit

At last I get to see goals at Hammarbys Söder Stadion!

With some woeful finishing I was fearing that it was going to be another 0-0 but the first goal I saw was from a penalty against Bajen. Fortunately the boys in green and white fought back and managed to win the game in injury time 2-1

Its quite some experience when Hammary score, they go nuts and people you dont know put their arms around you and celebrate. Proper old school, memories of standing on the North Bank at the Vetch came flooding back.

What I particularly like is the way the team thank the support, especially the vocal supporters. They come over, stand in a line and clap for about five minutes. Its reminiscent of the scenes at the end of the season, or a cup final not when you have just narrowly beaten a team that will struggle to stay up.

I also had a two quid bet on that result so that was a nice 70 quid win as well.

There is quite a few weeks now before the next league match. Sweden, unlike England, qualified for Euro 2008 so they have a break for that. Just when I was starting to get into it!

 

2 Responses

  1. I grew up with bajen, in London exile since ’96. I try to get into the premier league but just cant. I really miss all the things you mention. Maybe i should try barnet or afc wimbledon.

    Anyhow, I like your blog keep it up and FORZA BAJEN!

  2. Hi London Bajare, thanks for the kind words.

    I know what you mean about the Prem. When I moved to Cambridge I watched Cambridge City in the Conference South (thats 2 leagues below the Football League) and really enjoyed my time following them.

    You have some great choices in London. One of the clubs that impressed me was Sutton United FC, nice fans, old school ground and a cracking travel support who love a beer or ten!

    You should try and catch a Swansea City game when they are in London next year. The SEALS (south east and London Swans) are a great bunch and would make you welcome but expect a hangover the next day. You can check them out on http://www.seals-online.co.uk they have a good forum.

Leave a Reply

