Where have all the blueberries gone?

 

Things are coming together now. I have managed to sign up to a gym, despite an earlier run in with SATS I decided to join them because they have lots of gyms around Scandinavia. I paid for the platinum membership of SATS on the basis that I travel around Scand a lot with the day job so I shouldnt have an excuse not to get some training in.

Last year my mate Taz and I put in a great six months of gym, three to four times a week. That combined with a low GI diet meant the weight fell off me. I have put a lot back on as I have not been to the gym all year. Part laziness and part well red tape shall we say!

The SATS gym in Ostermalm is a five minute walk from the office so I am hoping to get in some lunch time runs and cycles. I used to love the lunch time session as they didnt impact on my social life, broke the day up nicely, allowed me to reflect on the morning and plan the afternoon ahead. Here is hoping I can get into a rhythm again.

I have been using my juicer a lot of late. I am trying to stick to a nutritious juice for breakfast, a veggie juice at lunch to go with a salad and a healthy meal in the evening. Todays veggie juice made me grimace but sometimes thats a good thing. It was 4 carrots, 3 celery sticks and cucumber all juiced together.

There is also a juice which is supposed to be great for recovery after a workout with no artificial stuff in and no isotonic in sight. The recipe from Jason Vale is as follows:

1/4 medium pineapple
1/2 stick celery
1 inch thick slice of cucumber
1 apple
1 lime
1/4 cup blueberries
1/2 banana and 4 ice cubes

So tonight I went off to get some of the ingredients but..I couldnt find any blueberries. Now I have to be honest here I have to say I have not been totally impressed with the fruit in Sweden but I had to go to 3 supermarkets before I found any. It was good old ICA to the rescue, Hemkop and Koop were found wanting on this occasion.

Todays Swedish Word of the Day is blåbär – blueberry.

 

2 Responses

  1. I never saw you as a smoothie drinker. Low GI diet is great, isn’t it?

  2. Sounds really good mate… love feeling fit and healthy… sounds like you are looking forward to it and will enjoy it!

    Im glad youve mention fruit… I think the quality of fruit and veg is alot lower than here from my experiences (Hemkop) but my gf asures me that ICA Maxi is alot different.

Leave a Reply

