The Swedish State Subsidises the Press!

I recently read that the Swedish State gives out subsidies to several newspapers in Sweden. I have to say that this is not something I can agree with. Maybe its my classic liberal stance but the media and the government should be very seperate entities.

Major Newspapers to lose Press Subsidies

Can you really expect to read an unbiassed newspaper if its given financial support by the government? Its bad enough that most papers are backed by Publishers that have their own political agendas but the State?

I also heard recently that a new Welsh language newspaper which was due to be launched has been scrapped because the Welsh Assembly wouldnt give it a grant. I personally think the Welsh Assembly is a waste of space but I do support them here. A newspaper should never ever be given subsidies. If it cannot survive via advertising and circulation then it is obviously not wanted. 

 

3 Responses

  1. Major clash of interest I think. It is the press’s job to make people aware of what is going on without bias, unless its a columist, but it rarely happens.

    ‘I want the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth’

  2. Agree with you on the principle but what if the costs of a newspaper are so high that it wouldn’t be affordable anymore? You could end up with no press anymore. A similar situation in France: no direct subsidies but distribution costs are partly subsidised and this allows L’Huma to still be distributed🙂

  3. Well I guess if the paper cant make any money then they are not wanted. Its not as if its a hospital. I would feel very uncomfortable with my tax going to a newspaper.

Leave a Reply

