The Man Who Sold The World

 

Its been rather an eventful week professionally for me. I cant really talk about work issues here (bloody boring for most of you anyway) but I have had a very senior and potentially life changing promotion.

On the same day the news came through I was looking at my passport. I need to go to the British Embassy next week to renew as it expires in July. On looking at the photo of a 10 years younger blogger the mind started to wander and I recalled one of my favourite songs. One I hadnt listened to in ages. Its called ‘The Man Who Sold The World’ an early David Bowie number. The lyrics are quite poignient.

We passed upon the stair
We spoke of was and when
Although I wasn’t there
He said I was his friend
Which came as a surprise
I spoke into his eyes
I thought you died alone
A long long time ago

Oh no, not me
We never lost control
You’re face to face
With The Man Who Sold The World

I laughed and shook his hand
And made my way back home
I searched for form and land
For years and years I roamed
I gazed a gazeless stare
At all the millions here
I must have died alone
A long, long time ago

(x2)
Who knows?
Not me
We never lost control
You’re face to face
With the Man who Sold the World

There are many explanations behind this song. I thought of it as seeing that passport photo reminded me of how far I have come in the last 10 years. However the ‘old’ me is still there I guess.

If you have never heard the Bowie version you can watch it on youtube here. Nirvana also did a cover but for me the Bowie version is superior.

One Response

  1. Congrats on the work news, are you still going to be in Stockholm when I come over?
    Had my stuff picked up on tuesday – cost me £400 to get it over which isnt cheap but isnt expensive. The gf went home yesterday so its all in full swing, just working out my notice then Im off!

Leave a Reply

