501 Must Read Books -My New Challenge

I was thinking this week that I although I read a lot I need to broaden my approach. For example I am currently reading Brian Tracy’s ‘Advanced Selling Strategies’, as well as Mike Huckabee’s ‘Quit Digging Your Grave With Your Own Knife and Fork’ .

I usually buy biographies and apart from the odd footballer its usually political or historical biographies. Not exactly light reading.

I came across a book today that I though would help me in choosing what books to buy. Its called ‘501 Must Read Books’ it covers genres such as Childrens Fiction, Classic Fiction, History, Memoirs, Modern Fiction, Science Fiction, Thrillers and Travel.

I don’t tend to read fiction at all so this will be hard going. I might stick up the odd review as I go along. The kids section does in fact include Pippi Longstocking and also the odious ( in my view) Harry Potter.  Yes I know Ms Rowling is a Morrissey fan but I don’t usually read books read by the masses, I remember swerving the Da Vinci Code for the same reason. I will let you know how I get on!

7 Responses

  1. U should try “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time” by Mark Haddon and “Extremely Loud and Increadibly Close” by Jonathan Safran Foer, two great reads.

    And Pippi Långstrump u should read in Swedish, good practice for u!

  2. The Curious Incident is one of the books listed, though I am going to really struggle to read ‘classics’ such as Heidi, Little Women and Black Beauty!

    I think I will take one book from each section to have variety. I dont want to spend the next 4 months reading kids books. Pippi…svenska…kanske😉

  3. I’ve done a similar thing – BBC top 100.
    Little Women is really good…did not like curious incident so much..
    Look out for Birdsong bu Sebatian Faulks – a classic..

  4. Well it would be nice to make a start on the 501 but I bought a few books at Heathrow that arent even on it. Oh well I guess there is no rush.

  5. Hey there!
    New York Stories English bookshop at Odengatan 100 is the place to visit…see http://www.newyorkstories.se
    Welcome!
    /Margaret

  6. Hej Margaret

    Tack så mycket! I think you may just have found a new good customer. I will come over and see you next week.

  7. […] Posted on March 28, 2008 by shane75 Managed to pick up the first two books needed for my 501 Must Read Books today. I selected Ernest Hemingways’ Old Man and the Sea  and Yann Martels’ Life of […]

Leave a Reply

