Opening a bank account in Sweden.

Today is officially the first day I have lost my rag in Sweden.

It’s funny really as a dear friend of mine emailed me recently asking what has happened to my writing style. I explained that its early days and that right now I am trying to get into the habit of regular posts.

I also explained that I am still new to Sweden. A few colleagues and Swedish friends are reading this so I have to be careful. I also think its bad form to ‘mug off’ the country you live in.

It is something that constantly annoys me about those Celts, whether they are from Scotland, Wales or Ireland, the ones who slag off England but still stay there and work there. I have never been a party to that and certainly wouldn’t want to slate my new hosts.  

I may however vent my frustration on occasion but I am hoping this is because of a difference with the system or characteristics. The day I support another team that plays Sweden (other than a British team) is the day I pack my bags and head for Arlanda. I guess Norman Tebbit and his cricket test would be proud.

Today I threw bit of a hissy fit at SEB bank. I popped over there yesterday to set up a new bank account. They asked for my passport, rent contract and a letter from my employer. I duly collected everything and returned today.

After spending nearly 30 minutes twiddling my thumbs waiting for my number to come up (see earlier post) I was told that I could not get an account until I had a residency permit.  I don’t mind the fact that I need this but if only it had been explained to me yesterday I could have got on the case today. I made it known in no uncertain terms that the SEB bank would not get my business when I have the permit.

Unfortunately said residency permit takes 6-8 weeks. Oh well.

I then had to pay my school bill at the bank. So I get another number and wait. Of course I get the only cashier who doesnt speak much English. Fine, well thats why I am learning Swedish so I muddled through but she wasn’t going to accept my credit card as payment.

This, in a country where you can use a credit card anywhere. I once saw a bloke pay for those silly roses in a nightclub with a credit card! Yet at SEB they were having a monk on because I wanted to use my flexible friend. In the end she gave up and trotted off to process the card.

Banks – don’t you just love ’em! 

Todays Swedish Word of the Day is bankkonto – bank account.

ps I was given the incorrect USB lead so am ordering another one, photos coming soon!

Leave a Reply

